MTI and KP Performance Sector Antennas

Greetings!

I’m just starting up a new WISP system. I’ve got over 40 years of experience with RF, mostly up to 900 Mhz, and about 17 years with VoIP and some basic networking. I have done a bit of work over the last 10 years or so with point-to-point systems at 5 Ghz, but not a lot.

I’ve used some MikroTik equipment for a few point-to-point systems lately and they work well for what we needed.

I was looking at using either Ubiquiti or MikroTik equipment for the APs and CPEs for our new system, but then I did some more research on Mimosa’s equipment. At this point, I’ve decided to use Mimosa for the areas where we’ll have the heaviest concentration of customers. We’re in a rural area, but we’ll be covering some towns that will have some decent numbers in terms of users on our systems (at least, that’s the plan ).

So, now I’m looking at what antennas to use for the A5C APs. We’ll be using the C5 CPEs. The price difference between the KP Performance and MTI Wireless sector antennas is considerable, so I lean towards MTI Wireless. But, I also see some differences in the design, construction, and specifications of the two antennas (I’m looking at the 65 deg models).

Can anyone give me an idea as to how these two antennas would compare in ‘on the air’ performance? Has anyone used both of them, to get a ‘real world’ idea about how they compare? Even from a theoretical standpoint, should one of them be any ‘better’ than the other in working with the A5C and C5 units?

John Rayfield, Jr.

In our experience, they would both work well. But, I would recommend the RFElements horns over both of them. Check them out, they offer many compelling reasons to go that route and the pricing is pretty good.

That sounds good on the MTI vs. KP Performance.

I don’t see any RF Elements models specifically for the Mimosa. I haven’t looked closely at them yet, but I’m assuming that it would take two of those units for each ‘sector’, with an A5C?