One A5c AP, (2) sector antennas possibility

I am new to the technology, I wonder if you can have A5c radio and split the signal in (2) 65 degree sector antennas to make 120 degree radius? Will each of those sector antennas have H/V polarization combination?What antennas do you recommend?

Hi Claudia,

It is possible to point antennas in different directions such that their patterns do not overlap, but you lose out on 6 dB of gain in doing so. Normally, twice the energy (3 dB) would be sent in the same direction, and beamforming would give an extra 3 dB for a total of 6 dB.

Another disadvantage would be that the noise floor would be inclusive of interference from two directions rather than one.

If you decide this is acceptable for your design, connect ports 1 and 2 to one antenna, and ports 3 and 4 to the other antenna. This ensures that each antenna receives inputs from each polarization.

Thanks a lot Chris :slightly_smiling_face:

Hi Chris,

Can I clear up a bit of confusion I have on this scenario.

I’m a little fuzzy on how multiple chains play with EIRP limits. Assuming both antennas overlap (beamforming config), and assuming a 30dBm EIRP, does that mean antenna 1 can push out 30dBm and antenna 2 also can transmit 30dBm giving a total of 33dBm output therefore allowing us to get +3dB TX over the EIRP?

Also, do the antennas need to have some spacial diversity to get the +3dB on RX?

Regarding the interference I had assumed (possibly incorrectly) that interference heard by antenna 2 would not affect a good signal received by antenna 1? ie, each antenna had their own “noise domain” so to speak. If I understand what you say above, there’s no significant difference having 2 x dual chain 30* sectors versus 1 x dual chain 60* sector?

Thanks,
Richard

Hi Richard,