Tree Height Loss

I am new with Fixed Wireless. I am extending the school internet to a low income around the school building. the tree height in the needed direction is at the same height as the antenna. i anm going to use the b5 and acx. my maximum range is 2000 feet. The trees are maple and at most two deep. how much loss can i expect or can i get signal on he other side of the trees to permit more back haul and micropops. the tree tops are at 260 and the antenna is about 255. ground is about 195.

Shooting through trees will kill your signal, it’s hard to predict exactly how much though. You can get a bit of prediction from the Mimosa Design tool, there is an option in the PTMP settings to simulate foliage eating up your signal. That said, it’s nearly impossible to give an accurate prediction even with the information that you have supplied already. I would guesstimate 20-30 dB of loss, but depending on location that will vary wildly.

You one advantage is that you are using a fairly hi gain antenna with the B5, the A5x (I am assuming that is what you are using) you will want to use a high gain antenna as well as hi gain antennas on your Customer Premise Equipment. The high gain antennas will help with picking up the weak signals some, but not a lot. Another issue is that alignment will be a massive bugger, the trees can effect the different chains (Horizontal and Vertical or H/V) differently, heck just the difference in the location of where your H/V are on the antenna will mean differences in how the signal is effected. (BTW, H/V chain mismatch will negatively effect the speeds your antenna can Transmit/Recieve at, you mostly want < 5 dB difference between your chains)

Too be honest, I would look for any way you can avoid the trees as much as you can. One option could be 60 GHz equipment. There isn’t a lot of it, but Mikrotik has pretty small access points and CPE equipment that could give you some more flexibility for getting people connected.