Advice for 54km using c5c

Hello. I need some advice,

This is my first time to use this kind of tech, i did some research also about ptp.

Here’s my situation.
The distance is 54km from A to B. Design Tool recommends the c5c, i’d like to send 300mbps to point B. What is the best dish antenna for me?

Please move my topic if im on the wrong section.

Welcome, hope your able to get the information you are looking for.

So first off, it looks like you have found some sort of bug in the Mimosa Design tool, it seems to be saying you have a link that does not have LOS (Line of Sight). You will definitely need towers that are tall enough to see each other.

The raw distance isn’t much of a problem, but 5 GHz (the frequency that most Mimosa gear works on) really does need LOS. You will want as big of an antenna as you can afford though, +36 dB would be where I would start. Parabolic antenna JRC-38DD DuplEX Precision : Antennas for 5/6 GHz parabolic : Wi-fi antennas Jirous.com would be where I would start looking. (Note, these things get expensive quickly) That said, Jirous is going to be on the higher end price wise and there probably are others that would be cheaper. I have a link lower to a Mimosa Blog post about shooting over water where they have pretty reasonably priced antenna.

Lastly, I wouldn’t recommend this link without some conversations with a real RF planner. You are going to be shooting over water and there are some really significant issues that happen when shooting over water. (Called Thermal Inversion, basically your signal hit’s a mirage and gets deflected just like light and that plays hell with your link). If you are bound and determined though, Mimosa does have some documentation on how they “can” get around the issue somewhat (it does require that you use an A5c radio on one side of your link and that you use another antenna. Deploying a Diversity Link | Mimosa by Airspan

Thank you, very important info.